Making Democracy Work

Calendar of Events

We sponsor meetings and events for the public and League members. All meetings and events are open to the public.

Date & Time        Place        Description
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
7:00pm - 9:00pm
Country Inn & Suites
919 Razorback Drive
Houghton MI 49931
Board Meeting.
Saturday, April 8, 2017
Ramada Inn
99 Navy St
Hancock, MI 49930

Phone: (906) 482-8400
Annual Meeting. Items to be voted on by the membership at the Annual Meeting:

1. Nominating Committee Slate
President - Rhianna Williams
2nd VP - Kristine Bradof
Secretary - Taryn Mack
Kathy Flagstadt
Faith Morrison

2. Budget

3. Bylaws Amendment
Article III parts
a) Voting members shall be at least 16 years of age.
b) Associate members (those under sixteen) are non-voting members.

This language removes the citizenship requirement and lowers the voting age from 18, putting our bylaws in compliance with changes adopted in the national LWV by-laws.

Dues structure changes
Dues increase effective April 2018:
Individual to $60;
Household to $90;
Student remains $30.
Nearly all the dues pass through to cover state and national per member payments.

Reminder: we offer the Kay LaRue Scholarship to cover student membership and on a hardship basis to individuals upon request.

Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Reminder to Vote!
  Reminder to Vote. This is just a friendly reminder to vote Tuesday, May 2 if you live in one of these areas:

Baraga County: N.I.C.E. Community School District Houghton County: Houghton-Portage Township Schools and Lake Linden Village Ontonogan County: Ontonagon Area Schools and Rockland Township

You can view your sample ballot online at the Michigan Voter Information Center here:

Thank you for participating in government!

Sincerely, Rhianna Williams League of Women Voters Copper Country

Tuesday, May 2, 2017
7:00 pm
Country Inn & Suites
919 Razorback Drive
Houghton MI 49931
Board Meeting.
Friday, May 19, 2017-Sunday, May 21, 2017
Kellogg Hotel & Convention Center
219 S Harrison Rd
East Lansing, MI 48824
State convention.